University Introduction

Located in the southwest of Shanghai, a center of commerce, finance, culture and industrial production of China, East China University of Science and Technology is a dynamic and prominent research-intensive university with high teaching quality.

ECUST is comprised of more than 1.7 million square meters on 3 campuses. The main campus, being 17 kilometers from Hongqiao Airport and 45 kilometers from Pudong International Airport, is situated in the prosperous and energetic Xuhui District. In addition to its downtown location, the university also features two other campuses in Fengxian and Jinshan District.

The history of education of the university can be dated back to Nanyang Public School (1896) and Université d’Aurora (1903). The university was officially founded in 1952 after the mergence of chemical or chemistry departments from Jiaotong University, Université d’Aurora, Utopia University, Soochow University and Jiangnan University, and became the first chemical industry oriented university in China named as East China Institute of Chemical Technology.

With the value of “Diligence, Factuality, Aspiration and Virtue”, ECUST has always been making every endeavor to develop its united and pioneering spirit since its establishment, and is dedicated to providing its students with advanced knowledge and skills in an academic environment full of intellectual stimulation and scientific innovation.

Today, a wide range of programs is offered to cater to the demands of the society and to prepare the students for an ever-changing global context. The university has 16 academic schools, namely School of Chemical Engineering, School of Chemistry and Molecular Engineering ,School of Biotechnology, School of Pharmacy ,School of Materials Science and Engineering, School of Information Science and Engineering, School of Mechanical and Power Engineering, School of Resources and Environment Engineering,  School of Business, School of Social and Public Administration, School of Science,  School of Art Design and Media, School of Foreign Languages, School of Law, School of Sports Science and Engineering, School of Marxism together with 3 colleges which are College of International Education, Sino-German College of Technology and College of Continuing Education(College of Distance Education).

Currently, there are more than 16,400 full time undergraduates, 9,600 postgraduates including 1,800 doctoral students studying at ECUST. The number of faculty and staff members has reached 3000 among whom there are more than 1100 professors and associate professors.

East China University Of Science And Technology Shanghai, China Mei